For All:

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 7.20.41 AM.png

It has always been important to vote, but in my lifetime, I have never had such a compelling reason to do so than I do now. We live in a country where there is a 3 strikes/life sentence policy for drugs and not rape. Where the gun used to murder Trayvon Martin (listed by the man who was acquitted of his murder) had a $100,000 bid. Where 22 veterans commit suicide every day and we act like we can’t help. Where 45 million people live below the poverty line in one of the most developed countries in the world. Where women make a little more than .70 cents to a man’s dollar. Did I lose you? That is my point. Some, (not most in my opinion) people don’t want to hear about injustices if they don’t directly affect them. An even fewer number of those people not only don’t want to hear them, but believe with blinding faith that they don’t matter. I have also learned that though they are few, these people are often the loudest.
In super-hero movies, there is a good guy and a bad guy. Good vs. Evil. Usually, the good guy wins. I wish I could predict the outcome of November but I think it says a lot about our current state of affairs that I can’t. Thought it is painful to admit, I firmly believe that it could go either way. That voice has become very loud.
And so, we have somehow found ourselves here. Trump is of course not the villain we need right now but perhaps he is the villain we deserve. There is a reason he is becoming louder. We can’t keep scratching our heads. Insisting it will die down. Reassuring each other this will all be over soon. There is now a 50/50 chance it won’t.
But the thing about hate is that it is fueled only by ignorance. It is in that truth that I remind myself to be kind and not lose sight of the fact that blaming anyone does nothing. The only thing we can do is account to and for ourselves. Thank you for taking the time to listen, in that itself I have faith in tomorrow.
Leave a Reply

